DHS announces a new process for citizens returning from China and Iran

DHS Outlines New Process for Americans Returning from Certain European Countries, China, and Iran.

Worldwide News: As the COVID-19 continues spreading leaf and bound all around the world, today the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Acting Secretary Chad F. Wolf issued a notice of Arrival Restrictions In order to make possible efforts to avoid the spread of travel-related cases of coronavirus in the United States.

The notice issued by Acting Secretary outlines the process for American citizens, legal permanent residents, and their immediate families who are returning home after recently visiting following European countries such as China, and Iran.

All American citizens are required to travel through the following 13 airports after returning from all restricted countries.
The suggested airports follow: Boston-Logan International Airport (BOS), Massachusetts
Chicago O’Hare International Airport (ORD), Illinois
Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport (DFW), Texas
Detroit Metropolitan Airport (DTW), Michigan
Daniel K. Inouye International Airport (HNL), Hawaii
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport (ATL), Georgia
John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK), New York
Los Angeles International Airport, (LAX), California
Miami International Airport (MIA), Florida
Newark Liberty International Airport (EWR), New Jersey
San Francisco International Airport (SFO), California
Seattle-Tacoma International Airport (SEA) and Washington
Washington-Dulles International Airport (IAD), Virginia.

When traveling, the travelers will proceed to standard customs processing.
After continuing to enhance entry screening, the passengers’ current conditions and medical history will be asked including contact information for local health authorities. Travelers to combat the spread of the virus, will be instructed with a written guidance about COVID-19 and directed to proceed to their final destination, and immediately home-quarantine in accordance with CDC best practices.

Wolf stated, “I understand the disruption of the new process to some travelers, however this action is required to protect the general public from further exposure and spread of the coronavirus. Once back in the U.S. it is imperative that individuals honor self-quarantine directives to help protect their loved-ones and communities.”

“While the complete risk this time is quite low of serious infection from the coronavirus to the general public remains, the Trump administration is doing its best to assure safety and taking these aggressive measures to keep the risk low, requiring all Americans returning from affected areas in Europe to be funneled through 13 airports for screening upon their return to the U.S.,” explained Acting Secretary Wolf. “To minimize disruptions to travelers, TSA, CBP, and air carriers are working to identify qualifying passengers before their scheduled flights. These passengers will be rerouted to one of the 13 airports by their airline at no cost to them.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.