EU announces new sanctions against Nuclear Korea

80 persons and 75 entities as listed by UN Security Council are subject to sanctions, says EU Council
BRUSSELS: The EU on Friday expanded its sanctions in response to North Korea’s ongoing nuclear and ballistic missile-related activities.
The EU took new restrictive measures in line with UN Security Council decisions, the EU Council said in a statement.
The EU added five individuals and 21 entities to a list of those subject to an asset freeze and travel restrictions, the statement said.
Currently, 80 persons and 75 entities, listed by the UN, are subject to sanctions against North Korea, according to the statement.
The statement added that apart from the UN sanctions list, it has a separate restrictive measurement list which includes 55 people and nine companies.
The EU also banned 15 ships from entering European ports and ordered the assets of another 15 ships frozen.
The EU maintains North Korea’s nuclear and ballistic missile-related activities represent a serious threat to international peace.–AA

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.